Breast Cancer Research Council Members

To continue to fund innovative research, the California Breast Cancer Research Program (CBCRP), the largest state-funded breast cancer research effort in the nation, must rely on an advisory committee. The committee, the Breast Cancer Research Council (BCRC), is responsible for tracking the trends and opportunities for progress that arise in the breast cancer community, making funding recommendations, and planning future directions of the CBCRP. The BCRC is made up of 15 people selected to represent those affected by breast cancer and the institutions that can help find a solution.

BCRC Members 2013-2014

Council Chair: Naz Sykes
Nonprofit Health Organization Representative, Dr. Susan Love Research Foundation
Vice Chair: Jon Greif, DO, FACS
Medical Specialist, Bay Area Breast Surgeons, Inc.
Maria Caprio
Advocate, The Shanti Project
Cynthia Gomez, PhD.
Director, Health Equity Institute & Professor, Department of Health Education, San Francisco State University
Marjorie Green, M.D.
Industry representative, Genentech
Karuna Jaggar
Advocate, Breast Cancer Action
K. Alice Leung, M.B.A.
Industry representative, Sapientiae
Melanie Marty, Ph.D.
Scientist/Clinician, OEHHA
Janice Mathurin
Advocate, West Fresno Family Resource Center
Arash Naeim, M.D., Ph.D.
Scientist/Clinician, UCLA
Marta Nichols
Advocate, Breast Cancer Connections
Sharima Rasanayagam, Ph.D.
Advocate, Breast Cancer Fund
Ted Schettler, M.D., M. P.H.
Non-Profit, Commonweal
Kristiina Vuori, M.D., Ph.D.
Scientist/Clinician, Sanford-Burnham Medical Research Institute
David Wellisch, Ph.D.
Scientist/Clinician, UCLA

See previous council

Review Council Minutes